Facebook Instagram Tripadvisor Twitter Blogger Google+

Call: 01938 811 308
Email: anya@strawberryskysyurts.co.uk

Glamping at Strawberry Skys Yurts - Testimonials

Stunning hidden gem

Stayed this weekend with my partner in the oak yurt and it was lovely! We were welcomed and shown the yurt and how to manage the fire burners (which is very useful to know late November!) 
The fire had been started to warm up the yurt prior to our arrival which meant the yurts was lovely and toasty when we got there 
Beautiful area you stay in, loads of privacy between each yurt and the kitchen facilities and bathroom/showers so close by. More than anything the yurts were absolutely beautiful, especially at night lit with fairy lights and candle lanterns , fire burners inside and the fire pit outside with your own seating area is so nice. Would highly recommend anytime of the year, so much value for your money and a hidden gem for a weekend away 

Thank you for a lovely stay

Jessica J - November 2016

Amazing first yurt holiday

This was our first time staying in a yurt and won't be our last!
Although we don't do camping we decided to give yurting a go so the children can experience different types of holidays.This 2 night stay was a major success. The amount charged for our stay was reasonable and we could book a shorter break even in half term which was idel for us. Although I had a few minor niggles - it could do with a gravel path to each yurt to guide your way especially at night,I wish there was another toilet/shower block nearer our yurt to help with the 4am toilet run and the driveway in over the field needs abit of attention- this holiday still gets 5 stars as these niggles were outweighed by all the other qualities of the holiday like the quality of the yurt ( we stayed in the double yurt) which had lovely detailing on the wood inside, plenty of room for our family of 2 adults & 3 children and all of us slept well. There is a mini campfire pit with seating around it and a bbq outside each yurt, swings on trees, a well kitted out kitchen and dining area. The toilets although composting loos are well designed and the newer toilet and shower 'shed' is great and wood for the woodburners and campfires is provided at no extra cost. The couple who run the yurts are very welcoming and helpful, even printing us off an address and opening times of a place we wished to visit, they made us feel like nothing was too much trouble for them they were truely super hosts. We would highly recommend them and look forward to returning in the future.

BoltonMother3 - October 2016

Just fabulous

Just returned from a lovely holiday at Strawberry Sky Yurts, such a peaceful environment I could have stayed! Anya gave us a tour on arrival and her dogs and cats kept us company all week long. The yurts are lovely and the facilities are great, thanks guys we will return!!

Laura F - September 2016

I LOVE Starwbery Skys Yurts

Great family break. The whole family loved it. The kids loved collecting the fire wood for the fire pit which was a great to sit round at night and star gaze. The surrounding are beautiful. The kitchen is very well equipped and the eating area is lovely. We would definitely recommend it to everyone.

Selina w - September 2016

Lovely time

I spent 4 days here and loved it. The accommodation was superb and excellent amenities. My son, 10 years enjoyed the routine of getting wood for the fire and gown for breakfast in the outdoor dining room. Fabulous scenery and so much nature, owners were great and my son loved their pets.

Lisa W - August 2016

Fantastic family glamping

We stayed in the 'double' yurt (Oak Yurt) and it was perfect for our family of 5. The weather was drizzly which normally would have us feeling a bit miserable being the fair weather campers that we are, but the good sized and comfortable yurts as well as the excellent cooking and dining facilities meant we enjoyed every minute. There is loads of space to set the kids free, swings hung in the trees, a fire pit outside every yurt as well as a BBQ each. The Oak yurt is two yurts joined together by a mini corridor and each side has a log burner so we were very cosy despite the wet and cold.

The owners Eric and Anya could not have been more friendly and helpful and they obviously love the place and want visitors to enjoy themselves too.

If you have a car that rides a little close to the ground though I would suggest you borrow someone elses for your break as the driveway is essentially a farm track. Whatever you do, stop for a minute once you come through the gate at the top and take in the view, it's amazing.

I highly recommend this place and plan to go again.

Michelle T - August 2016

Great 4 night stay

Stayed in the new wooden yurt (Ash yurt) which has electric plug sockets and electric lighting. Also a comfy double bed there is also 2 single futons for the kids! Very clean and cosy. Anya & Eric the owners are very friendly, welcoming and helpful. I would recommend strawberry yurts for anytime of the year you will have a fab time and will want to keep returning. Lots of things to see & do in the area for everyone. Thanks Anya & Eric for a fabulous stay, Leigh, Emily & Amos can't wait to come back next year!

Leigh S - August 2016

Brilliant 2 night stay

Stayed in the biggest Yurt for 2 nights, we were a group of 6 mature ladies. The yurt was quirky, clean and different. We walked, talked and rested. Beautiful spot. Great owners. A first for me and a great experience. Clean and well equipped shared cooking facilities, 2 showers, only 4 yurts so not busy there are 2 compost loo's.

diane_happy - June 2016

A hidden gem

We booked this stay as a last minute thing and Well what can i say, from the outset Eric and Anya we're welcoming and friendly it's clear its ran by a family who really care about their environment and care about the people who stay there. We stayed in Ash yurt which is the wooden one which was extremely clean and comfortable and we slept very well. The BBQ and fire pit was just a few meters away and end the day perfectly. The yurt site is uncrouded and every yurt has loads of its own space for the kids to run about with no worries about upsetting your neighbours. In the evening you can see the bats and wildlife which the older child enjoyed and the little one played for hours on the rope swings.
There is also a well equipped kitchen with ovens and fridges so if BBQ is not your thing you can cook whatever you please which is a fantastic touch. All wood is supplied for your log burner and fire pits and there's plenty of it so don't worry.
Only down side for me is that the yurt field toilet could to with a padded strip above the door because it hurts if you don't duck lol what would also be good is a little lock on the inside of the yurt door not for keeping people out but for a little peace of mind keeping a little one in whilst you sleep.
All in all a fantastic little place which is relaxing and beautiful. Fantastic site fantastic scenery and fantastic hosts many thanks for an excellent stay and we will definatly be returning soon!

scott l - June 2016

Amazing hosts

Me and my boyfriend decided last minute to take a camping break this bank holiday. On checking the weather we decided that a Yurt would be better than our 2 man tent. Anya and Eric fitted us in with 2 days to spare before our arrival. They were the perfect hosts and their 2 little boys were delightful giving us a tour of the amenities. Top parking marshals! We stayed in 'Cherry Yurt' which was right at the top of the field. Although we had to walk for the toilets, showers and kitchen it was no skin off our noses - we are young afterall! The compost toilets impressed me, no bad odours at all, just the smell of earth (as expected). The yurt was spacious and having a large woodburner kept very warm all night even when the fire went out. (We did have 2 duvets and a blanket over us as well). The boyfriend loved showing off his fire making skills with the campfire and chopping wood, whilst he had me on BBQ duty. 
An overall fantastic weekend and would definitely return. We have come home with nothing but recommendations and good vibes!

Katrinagooch89 - May 2016

Epic!

I couldn't fault this place (and that's not like me). Our wooden yurt was so cozy with stunning surroundings and great facilities, perfect place for a unique and fun experience. We'll be going back with friends that's for sure. Thanks so much x

Derrion - April 2016

Strawberry Skys Yurts

Stayed 26th October for 2 nights with husband and son I'm not your glamping sort of girl but it was great ,lovely log burner afraid I was going to be freezing but if anything I was to hot compost loo wasn't as bad as I thought just like a normal loo but no flush .surrounding area is lovely and we visited some great places just a sort drive away .we ate out at the local pubs for tea .the locals were very friendly I'd say that if you enjoy camping but want something abit special then I'd recommend this lovely little hidden gem .thankyou for a lovely stay.

Andrew H - October 2015

Amazing yurt experience!

Myself and my boyfriend stayed in Cherry yurt mid October and it was the perfect weekend! The weather was particularly good (no rain) and was the perfect temperature to make the most of the wood burning stove in the yurt, which once going makes the yurt incredibly warm and cosy. The facilities, which include bathrooms and a kitchen area, on the site were spotless and had everything you could possibly need.

The area was really well located to many Welsh beauty spots and not far from Welshpool for all the regular amenities. 

I will be recommending Strawberry Sky yurts to all my friends and family - thanks Anya and Eric!

Jessica A - October 2015

Absolutely 5* - could not ask for better

Myself and my husband stayed in the Ash Yurt for a couple of nights in early October. Yurt was spacious, clean, beautifully situated, very private (masses of space between the yurts), own picnic bench & seats, own fire pit, own BBQ. The site is absolutely lovely with breathtaking scenery and stunning views. Directions to property very easy to follow and easy access to site. The compost loos and the showers (less than 30 seconds walk from the yurt) were kept spotlessly clean and there was always plenty of hot water. Owners (and their dogs & cats!) welcoming and friendly. Had a perfect weekend and we were blessed with gorgeous weather too - thank you Eric and Anya, we will certainly be back & have already recommended your site to others. Well done for getting the balance absolutely right. Love love love this place! xx

Volcanophilia - October 2015

Great weekend away

Stayed at Strawberry Sky's Yurts for 2 nights. Stayed in the double yurt. Was a great experience, yurts got cold at night (as expected) but were warmed up quick enough with the inside log fire, wood was always available in the wood shed, BBQ outside used for breakfast, dogs were very friendly, great view from the yurt, inside very clean, no complaints about the toilets and showers, and to top it all off the owners are a very friendly and pleasant family. Will definitely be coming back.

Peter B - October 2015

A lovely little haven

This was our second visit to Strawberry Skys, staying in Willow yurt both times. Can't fault this place. The yurt is comfortable and the wood burner is incredible. Eric and Anya have thought of everything - everything you need is provided which makes staying here so easy and relaxing. We will definitely be back!

Joana D - October 2015

Two nights in Willow yurt Septemebr 2015

As there were only two of us - my wife and myself - I booked Willow Yurt, the smallest yurt available. We were very disappointed to find that it was damp inside and smelled of damp or mildew. I think it must be one of their older yurts as we were able to visit a nearby, larger and newer yurt which looked lovely by comparison. Having to trek through uncut grass to the toilet and the kitchen was also a bind. I'm a regular camper and am used to "roughing it", but at a far lower price than what I paid for our two nights. The compost toilets were clean and well maintained, but still stank. On the plus side we enjoyed using the log stove and also sitting outside by the fire with our evening meal. Overall, it was a disappointing two nights.

Gtu895rtyuuy - September 2015

Fantastic stay

Having tried 'glamping' previously we wanted to take our 3 children away and experience the fun of the outdoors again but this time in Wales. We were not disappointed. We were met by Anya and Eric who welcomed us with big smiles and we were promptly shown around.

We stayed in the 'Oak' yurt - perfect size for a family. The children had one yurt all to themselves and were able to relax without their mess in our own yurt.

The furniture inside was more than adequate, the children were very comfortable as were we. A pleasant surprise that there was no extra charge for additional wood, we stocked up the camp fire both nights whilst we enjoyed a BBQ in the night air.

The children loves the rope swings, lots of running around, meeting chickens, dogs and sheep whilst playing outside knowing they were safe.

The only downside is having to walk a few minutes down the path/fields to the toilet - especially in the middle of the night - but a small price to pay for a beautiful short break.

Strawberry sky yurts are well placed, we visited Barmouth and enjoyed a day out on the beach. We enjoyed a strawberry sky sunset and we would definitely go back.

Thanks guy

TipTopPhoto - September 2015

What a tonic . .

This was our second visit to Strawberry Skys Yurts.
Anya and Eric were as welcoming as always, even the sun decided to stick around for most of the week, which was a bonus!
We stayed for 7 days in Willow Yurt again which was ample big enough for myself, husband and 6 year old son.
We love going so much, it is so nice to be getting away from technology and slowing down and spending quality family time together.
The yurt is spacious, comfortable, water tight, not drafty, and especially cosy with the log burner on cooler evenings.
Willow is the smaller of the four yurts, bottom of the hill therefore closer to the toilets/shower/kitchen which is a bonus.
Anya and Eric have thoughtfully laid out the footpaths that lead to the yurts so that guests don't impose on each other.
With the addition of the Ash yurt Anya and Eric had added another fridge in the kitchen and also built another toilet with shower included which is lovely and spacious.
Really tempted to book up in the Ash yurt for next year as it looks so lovely and different to the others on site but we do love Willow.
This year we visited the aqueduct on Llangollen Canal, Lake Vyrnwy where we kayaked and walked to waterfall, got the steam train from Llanfair to Welshpool and walked from station to Powis Castle which was well worth the visit, on the way back to the station we stopped at the lovely Bay Tree Vintage Teas Rooms in Welshpool for some lush cake, Aberdovey Beach, Llechwedd Slate Caverns, swimming in Wrexham, and mooch around Oswestry.
Butchers in Llanfair do some lovely burgers which are great on the BBQ.
Can't wait to go again next year to hit the restart button.
Thank you Anya & Eric x x x

WarwickSuzie - August 2015

Best glamping experience

We stayed at Strawberry Skys a second time August 17th 2015 and again we couldn't fault our visit! The place is amazing and idyllic, the new yurt was so cozy and smelt fabulous (the skylight is an extra bonus) Myself, husband and 2 children aged 5 and 9 had immense fun over the 4 days we stayed......even the drizzly wet Welsh rain didn't spoil our fun. Anya and Eric are so friendly along with the 2 dogs and 2 cats and a random chicken who roams the area. Would recommend this site for anyone who perhaps doesn't fancy camping but is willing to give the great outdoors a go!

LaurenV87 - August 2015

Back to nature

Stayed a few nights in August. We were glad that we paid attention to the website details regarding how to get there (Sat Nav gets you close, but if coming from the west it shows the wrong turning into a field). Take note also of things to bring with you as detailed online, this was very useful (please add shampoo to the list, as it is not provided). 
We were warmly welcomed by our host Anya who exlained in detail how the kichen, showers and eco loos worked and showed us the woodshed with the various types of firewood to use (kindling, yurt stove and outside firepit).
The yurt was set in a secluded spot with a bbq area beliw and decking around the yurt with a table and chairs. The yurts are located on a west facing ridge with magestic views over rounded hills and wooded valleys. At sundown the whole sky turns pink and orange, which explains the slightly Beatles era, could be anywhere, Strawberry Sky name. Might be a good name for an ice lolly.
The yurt was spacious and well appointed, the small wood burning stove was very effective with no smoke or smell inside even with the door adjar. A flat griddle top was useful for boiling water in a saucepan (we bought this nearby, it was easier at night than going down to the kitchen as the path is steep, dark and slippery). 
Yurts are of course designed for the Mongolian winter and so doors must be as small as possible. The only problem was that for the first few times bumps on the head were sustained until we got used to bending over double to get in and out. 
I thought the yurt would be gloomy during the day without any windows but it turned out that it had a large roof light around the central chimney pipe which let in shafts of sunlight.
Take warm sleeping bags as the yurt gets a bit cold at night once the stove goes out. 
This is a great place for kids to experience a bit of back to nature afventure. It was also a great pleasure to warm up in the morning sun on the decking listening to the cocks crowing, the turtle doves warbling, the bullocks lowing and the sheep bleating. Only in the deepest still of night could you hear the occasional rumble of traffic from the valley below. 
If you need to charge a phone or laptop there are sockets in the kitchen. There is no wifi and only an EE mobile signal seems to get through, but EE had 3 bars. 
We had a very nice time. 
Thanks to Anya and Eric for the warm welcome.

Dieithryn - August 2015

A great introduction to glamping

This was our first experience of glamping and I booked strawberry sky's based on the reviews. We stayed in the cherry yurt and it was more than comfortable for our family of five (2 adults & 3 children). We really enjoyed our stay. The reason I marked it down is due to the smell of the compost toilet in the shower room. The smell was quite unpleasant especially when having a shower. Apart from this I would return as the kids loved it so much.

almanchester - July 2015

Fantastic

Just come back from strawberry skies, we had an amazing time Eric has it spot on! Left alone to enjoy the tranquillity of the country side , yurt was warm and cosy and lanterns made it magical in the evening can't wait to go back.

Marie s. - May 2015

Wonderful few days

My husband and I just had the most wonderful stay at Strawberry Sky's. Well equipped place, in the most stunning surroundings, all we could hear were sheep! Long burner was amazing, really warm, great to be able to camping at this time of year and not be cold.

AlanaJG - April 2015

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay . .

The site itself is situated in a great location: close enough to local amenities should you forget anything and there's plenty to do in the surrounding area to keep you busy. Facilities on site were more than adequate with a communal kitchen, chopped wood for the fires and two toilet blocks. The Yurt itself was very tidy, well decorated and most importantly warm! Eric and Anya were very friendly, as were the dogs! We had a great time, and would definitely recommend it to our friends.

LRob93 - April 2015

Ideal place to relax and unwind.

My partner and I have just returned from our stay at Strawberry Skys Yurts. We stayed in the smallest yurt, Willow, and there was ample room for both of us. The bed was comfortable and the furnishings made our stay pleasant and easy. The yurt was warm, especially considering the cold Spring temperatures outside. There was more than enough wood to keep us going, and we were given a quick guide to log-fires, which helped a lot. We didn't see much of the 'things to do', but ventured into Welshpool for a relaxed stroll around town. The kitchen and bathroom facilities at Strawberry Skys were wonderful, and to a high standard. We absolutely loved our visit, and were sad to leave, but will be returning soon! Thank you

PantRuthynFarmT - March 2015

Peace & tranquility, AMAZING.

Firstly AMAZING one of the best greetings on arrival I've ever had by ( Eric ) and anya. Would recommend the strawberry sky yurts to everyone . Great facilities lovely new toilet and shower toilet is a compost loo but dnt let that put you off just have a poo and throw a bit of sawdust down easy as that in your yurt you have fairy lites rite round it and nice wood burning stove which if you get it rite it's absolutely amazingly hot. Tea lites also around the yurt . We are hopeing to go again with the children in the summer . There's two places local to go one is two miles away (llanfair) where there is a spar a chippy ( which was good food ) a pub that did pub food a butchers specialy good for the summer for bbq back at the yurts . The other is called Welshpool where there two supermarkets nice little town with a canal and a narrow gauge railway which runs from welshpool to Llanfair . Try it you will like it.

Dave D. - March 2015

Just give it a go, you wont be sorry! 

This place was amazing, chilled, relaxed, no fuss, awesome views, even better dog! We did nothing but eat, read, and drink wine. The log burner kept us toasty, the kitchen area was clean and well equipped, the yurts look magical with lanterns at night. We stayed in November, not the best time really to do any sort of 'camping' especially if you hate mud, but even this didn't ruin our trip! 
Thanks so much for a wonderful stay!

- Katy L. February 2015 (stayed Nov. 2014)

 

This is the second time we have stayed in a yurt, the first was in the Lake District. Strawberry skys far surpassed expectations and was a hundred times better than where we have stayed before. The yurt (we stayed in the larger Oak)was beautifully furnished and extremely comfortable.The twinkling fairy lights at night are a really nice touch. The views from the yurt are amazing and as someone else said, although chilly outside, once the burners were going it was toasty inside. A little bit of a hike to the loo's at night in the dark, particularly as it is cold & quite muddy at the moment, but it was fine.
The shower is hot and clean. If I were to be slightly picky, it is not very powerful and washing long hair can take a while. This, however is a very minor point and was counter balanced by the great hair dryer they provide!
The communal kitchen area is excellent, with everything you need. I found it a little annoying when other guests didn't clean up properly after themselves, washing up and leaving stuff out on the draining board for someone else to put away, rather than drying it tgemselves and not cleaning out and drying round the sink when they had finished. This obviously is no reflection though on the sites owners, but maybe a sign could be put up detailing expectations? 
The only other thing that I would change is for there to be a pub a little closer. With kids, a two mile hilly up and down walk wasn't much fun, but The Goat was worth it with great food, a roaring fire and lots of board games to while away a couple of hours.
All in all, I thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely consider Strawberry Skys for our future yurting holidays.

- Meljol. February 2015

We truly loved our stay and will be returning again soon! We couldn't get over how many stars we could see! A beautiful location! The cushions fairy lights and tea lights in the yurt made us feel extra snug and despite it being cold outside we managed to keep warm with the log burner! Thank you for making it such a happy trip :)

- Dweightman. February 2015

I have been visiting this place for almost 6 years now and that is testament alone that I continue to keep visiting.. sometimes I have even come twice in a year however I skipped a year recently due to a new arrival. 

Just got back from a weekend in the new double yurt and my other half is converted. We even brought our 5 month along and this was no problem.

The site is small enough without it being over run like some sites - nice and secluded to give you that feeling of having a break from our normal busy lives..

Always plenty to do in the area and equally just as nice to stay on site and get cosy with the log burners.

The owners are extremely friendly and create a lovely feel when you arrive, nothing is any trouble and they genuinely happy when you re-visit.

Already booked in again with the whole family in Summer holidays and can't wait. Can't recommend this place enough!!

- Wayne M-K. February 2015

Stayed here with 3 friends for two nights and loved it. The yurt was beautiful as was the location. Being February it was cold but once the wood burners got going the yurts soon became cosy. The owner was helpful and friendly and the on site kitchen and toilets were clean and well equipped. Will definitely be visiting again.

- Loulou0687, February 2015

Converted to yurting! Great place to return to for sure. showers excellent. locals friendly. loved it.

- Helz1924. February 2015

This is our second visit to the yurts, the first time in July 2013 and probably one of the hottest weekendds of the year. As soon as we got home we knew we'd be back and decided to give it a go when the weather was colder. Within our group of 11 there were a few who'd not been before and they're all converted to yurting now! The place just gets better! Our trip was surprise for the birthday boy and Anya and Eric were both in on this and played along. This time around we were able to exprience the stoves in the yurts which made the place so warm and comfy. It was dry enough to sit outside around a campfire on the Friday night and all of us marvelled at the night sky, we had never seen so many stars. Saturday night was a bit hit amd miss with the weather so whilst we had the campfire going we were also able to sit inside Oak yurt which is now double and provides ample space for the 11 of us to sit around the stove and drink wine.

The kitchen facilities are great for catering for large groups, there is everything you could posibly need and it's obvious that such a lot of thought has gone into it! Eric and Anya are fantastic hosts who could not be more helpful, are there if you need them and treat you more as old frineds than customers.

We will definitely be back again!!

- Jill B. October 2014

I have just returned from a weekend stay with my four friends in Cherry Yurt. We all lived together at Uni but hadn;t seen each other in a while so it was a lovely, chilled break visiting Strawberry Skys! We arrived on the Friday and had lots of fun BBQ-ing outside and roasting marshmallows around the campfire whilst all catching up. We didn't even find the Autumn weather that chilly, but lighting the woodburner inside the yurt did make it very cosy! I loved the lanterns and fairy lights all round the yurt whih was decorated lovely and the beds were very comfy. We absolutely loved the experience of glamping at Strawberry Skys and would recommend the site beause as well as being well equipped and the facilities clean, ther is lots to see and do in the area. On Saturday we took a trip to Pystyll Rhaeadr which is a must-see, stopping of in the evening in the local village of Llanfair Caereinion for tea at the Red Lion pub which served nice food. Do read the "what to bring" part of the website before your stay as I found it very useful.

I can't wait to return for another stay at Strawberry Skys - Thank you Anya and Eric.

- Emily S. October 2014

 

We stayed here for two nights loved it and would book longer next time. We were met by Eric who showed us where everything was and how to light the wood stove in the yurt. What a peaceful relaxing place. I saw a woodpecker, squirrels and a tree creeper all on the second day. The yurt was at the top of the field so good excercise, but I would make a gravek path up to it. Lovely kitchen where we had our breakfast. The toilet was clean as was the shower. Plenty of logs and kindling to make a fire outside the yurt, it was lovely sitting there toasting marshmallows. Inside we had the log burner which got really hot and warmed the yurt in minutes. We walked to vilage along the lanes which took about 1hr 20 mins and had a drink at the 3 pubs and had a lovely meal in The Goat (advisable to book). Found a lovely tea room/restaurant (Just 3 Drops) in the village had hot choc drink and home made chocs outside in a lovely garden area by the river. Small eating room upstairs which looked lovely and romantic and cosy. Will book and try a meal next time.

Looking forward to returning to the yurts.

- Nanna090 - September 2014

 

We stayed here mid-August with our 2 children. We stayed in Chery Yurt and it was fantastic. Eric showed us round all the amenities on arrival and was very friendly and helpful. The site is quiet and peaceful but not far from nearby villages. The kids loved the two dogs Buffy and Milla, so much so they wanted to bring them home. The children spent hours just running up and down the fields, never getting bored. Would happily visit again in the future.

- Darren P. August 2014

 

I justed wanted to say thank you for a wonderful few days away from th emadness that is life in Cardiff, well our lives;) I really cannot fault your ovely yurts and all the holiday had to ofer. I have ben bombarded by friends for the details after showing off in FB and many are going to book! We can;t wait to return if you;ll have us and this is coming from a so not outdoors person!!!

Thaks again and good luck with your treasue of a place.

- Rachel.  August 2014

 

The four of us spent 4 nights staying in the Yurt. The amenities in and around the Yurt are just right for a comfortable stay. The wood burning stove made the yurt very cosy which was great as the weather was very a bit wet and cool for August. Cooking on the campfire was super fun and local towns were not far away. We will happily go back to Strawberry Sky Yurts again. I think the Yurts would be great to stay in in the colder months too.
Thank you Eric and Anya for a great stay.

- Jim P. August 2014

 

Just had a fantastic mid week break here in the double yurt. While location is remote, Welshpool is just a few miles away where you will find all the local amenities you needThe owners Anya and Eric take good care of you and the Yurts are all beautiful inside.Their farm is set in the rolling valleys and the views are stunning. If you are looking for somewhere quiet to stay then this is for you.Was a bit concerned about the compost toilet but these fears proved unfounded even after a week of high tempsKitchen area was will kitted and shower was hot and always cleanHad not been to this part of Wales before, and found it very beautiful with just an hours drive to the amazing seaside town of Aberdovey

- Ed W. July 2014

 

We stayed in the larger/double yurt at the end of May, with our two young children and two month old baby. The yurts are lovely things to stay in - attractive, spacious and very cosy with the wood burning stoves going. The whole place is a dream for young ones...from collecting the firewood to running and playing with Eric and Anya's two very friendly dogs, there's lots of space for them to tear around within sight.

In the evening, the campfire and barbecue were perfect, with all utensils provided, and a glass of wine to accompany the glorious sunsets and views was pretty good. 

We'll definitely book a return visit...we all enjoyed it way more than expected. The composting loo wasn't the grim challenge I expected - clean, hygienic and an interesting thing to explain to the children (who loved the idea of chucking the sawdust down and were quite fascinated by the whole idea). We're not into roughing it too much, and with young ones, you really want things to just be nice and easy! 

The kitchen is brilliantly equipped, and has a really nice covered area so you can still eat outside, even the rain stops the barbeque fun. 

As others have mentioned, Eric and Anya could not be more welcoming, friendly hosts. They very clearly go the extra mile to make sure your stay is as rewarding as possible. They strike the perfect balance between being around if you need them, but otherwise letting you get on with it. 

Any criticisms? Nope, none. It's an absolute gem of a place, the kind you want to keep to yourself, but grudgingly accept you really must share. Just a note of caution - if you stay in the double yurt, Eric will tell you to remember to duck when you go through the little connecting doors. We were warned, we mostly remembered, but got a couple of knocks to the head when we forgot! So, duck!!! 

I've recommended a trip here to a few friends, and we'll be back within the next year. 

Thanks for a lovely break!

- Nancy O'Malley. May 2014

Thank you so much for a lovely holiday in your very comfy yurts. As a busy family we had almost lost the art of being together! The living space & site were just what we needed to bring us together.

 - Laura & Andrew. April 2014

A great time was had by all, four boys running round day and night with camp fires keeping us warm. The stars in the sky better than a tele . toilet( well you are in a field had to laugh ) OPEN MIND NEEDED we all had a great time thankyou anya and eric.

- Sheree G. Apr 2014

 

We visited over easter Monday to Friday and were pleasantly surprised by the space in the yurt for a family of 5.their was plenty of wood for the burner and campfire to keep us warm and plenty of sheep in the neighbouring field to keep my daughter amused. We loved the yurt but there were some things you should take in hand and could be improved.the kitchen and showers were immaculately clean but could not get to grips with toilet.....a shed with 2 toilets in and smelt a little when seats were left up. We also stayed in the top yurt so going up and down the muddy field was exhausting so be weary if you have bad knees or pushchairs..maybe a stone/gravel path would help.overall it was fantastic.

Lots of love and memories of the place you won't be dissapointed. 

 - Geraldine B. April 2014

 

Strawberry sky's is a fantastic place to holiday with children. We booked into the new double yurt and it was extremely spacious! Having the extra room was fantastic with children as you could put the children to bed and then stay up later in the other yurt. The children loved collecting wood for the log burners which in turn made the yurts feel so warm and cosy! When night came your yurt became lit by tea light and twinkling fairy lights - just beautiful! Each yurt has 
its own campfire which the children enjoyed roasting marshmallows on! Anya and Eric are fantastic hosts and greet you like friends!

Would absolutely recommend this site to stay in.

 - Sarsie. April 2014

 

What a great place. . . . Excellent yurts, beautifully decorated and all amenities kept clean and well equipped.

The place is a hidden gem to which we will definitely be returning.

 - Andrew. April 2014

Wow. What a place! Set in beautiful countryside. The yurts are luxurious, enchanting and once the stove is lit, cosy too. The compost loo, shower and kitchen are clean and well equipped.

Huge thanks. We'll definitely recommend you.

 - Ben. April 2014

A perfect adventurous retreat for couples and families alike . . . the facilities are excellent . . .the yurts are spacious, comfortable and very romantic for a weekend away. A little tricky to find as it is off the beaten path but a little perseverence will lead to much reward once you arrive.

 - Matt September 2013

Had the most brilliant couple of nights in September. We stayed in the six person yurt (Cherry). The yurt was great. . . . The site is a rare gem which is not only peaceful in the picturesque Welsh mountains, but also spacious and relaxed. . . the compost loo was unbelievably not smell at all and very clean and tidy . . . cannot wait to return.

Would definitley recommend to all campers/glampers.

 - PIR-SLM September 2013

We've just returned from our 3rd trip to the yurts and are already planning our 4th. We've been both as a couple and with our three children and each time it has been beyond amazing . . .

we will be visiting for many years to come. It's exciting for us and our children love it too!

 - Tammi September 2013

We had such a great time staying in the yurts. The yurts are clean, nicely decorated and have such a lovely atmosphere, especially at night . . . Even the compost loo was nice! The owners are friendly, as are the locals. We will be going back!

 - Rebekah August 2013

We've just got back from a weekend break here. We booked the three yurts friday to sunday for 10 adults as a surprise 40th birthday party. The birthday girl, who has an aversion to camping, absolutely loved it! The yurts were all fantastic. We knew there was a kitchen and dining area but didn't think we'd bother as we'd taken stoves to cook some prepared food on the friday and were planning a bbq for saturday. We ended up cooking and eating in the dining area on the friday - the table comfortably sat the 10 of us and had everything we needed crockery/cutlery wise - even down to the tea towels. The shower was spotless, the compost loos, although they sounded a bit scary, were absolutely fine. We congregated around the big yurt on saturday, the bbq was great, even considering we were cooking for 10. 

I can honestly say we all had the best nights' sleep - I thought it may be a bit hot as friday was probably the hottest day this year. All wood, tea lights, firelighters were provided - which is a lovely touch. All the yurts had lanterns and solar fairy lights creating the most beautiful atmosphere - so much so, we can't wait to go back in the colder weather to take advantage of the stoves in the yurts.

Eric and Anya could not have been more welcoming. Everything was explained to us and then basically we were left to it - but knew we could get hold of them if needed.

We didn't venture in to the village, even though directions were provided, but we didn't feel the need to move from the yurts!

We will definitely be going back! I cannot think of one negative about our stay, apart from I wish we'd booked for longer!

Jill, July 2013

 

Four of us shared the larger yurt for four days and three nights, and had such perfect escape. The yurt was so comfortable, pretty, clean, smelt amazing and had everything we needed. Not just in the yurt but the kitchen, shower and toilet (tho very eco-friendly!) were perfect for what we needed. Even tho there were 6 other people on the site we never got in the way too much of each other, and the yurt are so well positioned you never felt looked over or hardly heard each other! 
The owners were perfect hosts, making us feel very welcome at the start and never hassled us over the four days, only stopped and chatted if our paths crossed. The unlimited wood was amazing as well which we took full advantage of! We were also provided with fun directions to the local village over fields and farmland, with recommended places to eat. 
Definitely a place to recommend and revisit.

Carys, February 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in February. It had been snowing, was minus 6 but that did not spoil a thing. The fire, once going keeps you toasty, there is everything you could want, fab hot shower, great clean kitchen a quick stroll down the hill. The owners are lovely and so helpful. We trecked over the fields and spent one night at the black lion pub in the local village, well worth it. The locals were so friendly and we had a great time! One night we had a BBQ and camp fire in the snow which was magical! If you fancy some outdoors fun , you can't beat this!

Rachiel, February 2013

 

Visited as family of 3 and really enjoyed it. We had booked the large yurt and it was beautifully decorated with a toasty log fire. Fairy lights and lanterns inside, bbq and pit fire outside. The view is amazing. We will be back!

Lou, February 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and loved it.
The owners and their dogs are fantastic . There are only 3 yurts and they are far apart so totally private. Lovely shower and kitchen. Wood is chopped up ready in the barn and you have your own outdoor picnic area with fire pit
Loved it, and the chippy in town is amazing.

TripAdvisor review November 2012

 

Could not have asked for a better weekend. The Yurt was perfect, it had lovely furnishing and had an amazing atmosphere. Could not of asked for a better weekend. We didn't get to use the BBQ. However, I am planning on coming back in the summer next year with friends and taking full advantage of all the facilities! Very clean and very well priced especially as they supply all the fire equipment and tea lights! We will be back

TripAdvisor review October 2012

Just been to stay in the yurt-it was fab experience.very relaxing & beautiful location. it was great to have a fully functioning kitchen. 

Added plus having bbq&fire pit as many places don't allow this. 

Nice stroll to the village.

Be good if they had another shower.

The loo is fun! It's all v clean & comfortable. 

Good value for money!

TripAdvisor review July 2012

What luck to find this place! A birthday treat from my boyfriend which lived up to and exceeded expectations. Chopping wood, cooking hearty meals, making fires and listening to the funny loud sheep talking amongst themselves, a perfect break for those who want a taste of the outdoors with the comfort of a warm, rustic and beautifully decorated yurt (“which you can stand up in!”). Also a hospitable and kind host who made our stay peaceful, and who helped us out of the mud when my boyfriend decided to mount the verge. Thank you for a brilliant time!

TripAdvisor review July 2012

My girlfriend and I recently spent a long weekend at Strawberry Sky and if you enjoy the outdoors life with luxury comfort accommodation we would highly recommend a stay.

The setting is in beautiful part of Wales, staying in Mongolian Yurts which have more than ample room to enjoy relaxing lazy days. The Yurts themselves are placed so you’re far enough away to enjoy your own space and the kitchen, shower and toilet are all high standard. Inside the Yurts expect lots of comfort and lovely lighting which automatically go on when the sun goes down (we loved this surprise). There’s also plenty of tea tree lights as well so you can create you own intimate setting. Each Yurt also has a wood burner in the middle of the room with a cute chimney which puffs away and makes the yurt cozy and warm. Out side the yurts there is a fire area, picnic benches and BBQ area which you can relax in the open air before retiring to the Yurts comfort. There's also plenty of wood, fire lighters to keep your fires going and all you really need to bring is your duvet, food and BBQ coals. 

We also had a walk down to the local village and found the directions easy to follow and a nice country walk across fields and farm land. The stay is also made comfortable by Anya and Eric who are also very helpful through booking, introduction and local information.

We both agree Strawberry Sky is great place to for a romantic or family break and overall it’s a lovely place to stay. Anya and Eric’ s have created a sanctuary for relaxing and enjoying the country life and we can’t wait till next time as I’m sure we will return in the future :)

Peter, June 2012

We stayed here in April. My other half works abroad and missed his birthday in this country so I booked the large yurt for a little get together of him, me and 4 other friends as a surprise.
So the large yurt sleeps 6 and really prob not 6 adults but ive got to say we were all in there comfortably.
This place is in such a beautiful setting. Really peaceful...well until we turned up :-)
I am not a camper but this place was awesome. the kitchen was great, it had everything we needed and we all sat round the big table together eating dinner. The showers were excellent, hot shower, heated towel rail and a hair dryer. The compost toilet was odourless and no where near as bad as u would imagine actually not bad at all!!!
We found the yurts so sweet...with the log burner inside, which was easy to use once shown how! Except no one would get up at 5am to get it going again!!! There was a fire pit outside which we all enjoyed sitting round. Also the BBQ was used to cook a ton of meat.
This place could be very romantic if you took just you and your partner. Also it would be excellent for families as there is plenty of animals around and walking to be done!! But we had an awesome time as a group of friends.
Anya made the booking easy and answered any questions I had very promptly and im so sorry I cant remember Anyas husbands name but he was incredibly helpful and friendly. He showed us round told us about a pubs etc we could venture to (we didnt make it as we made our own pub at the yurt!!!) and then left us to it, but told us if we needed anything where to find him.
There are lamps and tea lights provided but defo take some tourches with you as in the evening when we were in the yurts without a tourch we wouldnt of been able to see anything. 
We really wished we could of stayed for longer as this place was so relaxing and so fantastic to wake up to!!
Thank you guys for making this place lovely and accomadating us :)

TripAdvisor review, May 2012

Stayed at strawberry sky's last week of October. Had a great weekend, very relaxing. Very well recommended and would stay again.

Dan November 2011

We recently hired out the whole site for my 30th birthday with 11 friends. The whole weekend was amazing and it is difficult to get across just how fantastic strawberry skys is! Accommodation was lovely, the toilets better than you would think, great scenery, excellent kitchen area and very friendly,welcoming owners. We are already planning our return trip next year!

TripAdvisor review Setember 2011

I agree with other reviewers , very reluctant to leave a review as I would like to come back next year and fear it may get booked up!

We have an advantage as my partner grew up in Llanfair and knows the area very well. He had never heard of this place but is insisting we go back again. Its perfect, the new term 'glamping' is very apt for this place. 

You will be met by the owner Eric on arrival, who will show you to your yurt and around the campsite. He is very friendly and informed about the area. We stayed in the smaller of the three yurts. This yurt had the advantage of being able to reverse up the dirt track leading onto the site, and being to unload the car. The other two yurts you would have to wheel barrow or carry your things. Do not be fooled, the walk up that little hill can take even the fittest persons breath away! :) Tired my little girl out of a night time. 

Unlike other yurt sites that I have looked at firewood is in plenty supply at this site and included in your payment for stay, aswell as firelighters, candles, matches. We came prepared. You will however need to take your own charcoal should you plant to use the bbq, which is quite a large barbie! Do not make the mistake of using lots of logs on your woodburner in the yurt, the novelty of keeping warm while camping was too tempting and we ended up sat outside the yurt at 3am in our underwear trying to cool off it as we had stocked the woodburner to the brim. 

I am a city girl and was quite scare of the eco toilet, honestly do not worry! It smelt better than a normal toilet. My only complaint about the whole stay (which is very minor and was remedied with a trip to the shop) was the lack of anti bacterial in the toilet. I am a bit ocd when it comes to things like toilet seats etc and felt that after closing the toilet seat which was in close proximity to waste, I wanted a anti bacterial handwash to use at the sink. I ended up using and leaving my own handgel there. 

The kitchen has everything you could need, flasks to take hot water to your yurts for cuppas at night, every kind of pan you can think of, plenty of cutlery and plates , 3 shelves in the fridge for the three sets of people staying in the yurts etc. Again other minor complaint was that other guests left the door open to the kitchen and lights on, so being first in the kitchen at 7am I was greeted by a lot of flys and daddy long legs. All in all to have only two minor niggles during a camping/ hotel stay is fantastic. 

Shower is hot, powerful, clean. Alot better than some campsites I have stayed at!! 

I have already enquired about coming back in the next month. You will not be dissapointed. I came away feeling refreshed and relaxed. :) Thankyou Eric and Anya you are doing a great job.

Jacqueline September 2011

What a great holiday/break,
Me and the other half had a weekend here in 2009 with the kids (10) (2) and have been back 3 times since for a week each time, introducing various other friends and family member to life outside of London. The kids loved the wood chopping and fire prep (as did I) with no limbs lost :) Great photo's to be taken of the perfect views of meadows.
True country living, Loved it and will be back for my 4th visit next week,

Carl & Tiffany August 2011

Strawberry Skys is a stunning little getaway and the perfect place to unwind and recharge your batteries. It rained the entire first day we was there, but it was so cosy and warm inside the Yurt we really wasn't bothered!

Eric greeted us as soon as we arrived and showed us all the facilities and made us both feel very welcome. 

The fully equipped kitchen (including fridge freezer) and the shower were spotlessly clean, even the same can be said for the compost loo! Don't worry, it's nowhere near as bad as it sounds.

We'll definatley be going back. We was hoping it would stay our little secret hideaway, but Eric and his wife have clearly put too much work into this for us to be so selfish!

TripAdvisor review June 2011

 

After a busy week at work a trip to Strawberry Sky's was just what we needed. Fantastic w/e, great location, friendly people and very comfortable and cost yurt. Try it, u will love it.

Caroline June 2011

We actually stayed in 2009 but as I am about to return, I thought I'd write a long-delayed review for 2009 and then again for this year in a few days!
This is such a peaceful, unspoilt place to stay. A few yurts, not close together, in a field. Each has a log burner, a campfire area and a bbq; logs are available (and free), all you can hear is the wildlife and the roaring fire in the evening. Bliss!
It was really good fun to do something a bit different. Obviously it's not 5* luxury - one shower (in 2009 at least), a small but modern and well-stocked Scandinavian style kitchen hut with covered dining area for wet days and a compost toilet. But that's all part of the fun!!
There are things to do around the area - Powis Castle (National Trust) a local light railway (a bit costly), several markets, nice pubs, some beautiful walks around the waterfalls at Pistyll Rhaeadr. Or just cosy up next to the fire or in your comfortable, spacious yurt with a book or your holiday partner!

Laura Auhust 2010

 

What an amazing weekend we had at the beautiful Strawberry Skys. We had sole use of the site and enjoyed an amazing and slightly damp weekend in the cosy yurts, with atmospheric camp fires, BBQ's and a great meal at the Lion Hotel in Berriew.... all in all a perfect weekend... thanks to Eric and Anya

TripAdvisor review August 2010

 

There is no way of describing how relaxing it is at Strawberry Sky's. From the moment we arrived we were just in awe of the place. We will be going back! Eric and Anya were so chilled and very accommodating.

James July 2012

I have to agree with the first review, you have definately shot yourself in the foot there. Everything you wrote was absolutely true. This is somewhere to be kept a secret I think.
Eric and Anya and their baby are fabulous!! I shall be visiting until I am old and grey and can t chop wood anymore.
Also we met a lovely couple and their two children there who were great fun! hope to meet them there again.

TripAdvisor review May 2010

I know I'm going to shoot myself in the foot by writing this. We had such a great time at Strawberry Skys I want to tell everyone, but then you'll all want to go and they'll always be booked when I want to go.
My partner and I stayed 3 nights in one of Strawberry Sky's wonderful mongolian yurts. There are just 3 yurts; two small ones for 2-4 adults and one larger one for 4-6 adults. They are beautifully if simply furnished with dark wood furniture in keeping with the mongolian style. Each has a wood burner to keep them toasty warm and a firepit and bbq outside. The 3 yurts are well spaced in the yurt field so privacy is assured if you want it. There’s a log store where you can collect/chop wood for the stove or the firepit. Bags and a wheelbarrow are provided to carry the wood back to the yurt. 
Cooking is not allowed in the yurt but they have a great little kitchen in a log cabin ,well stocked with all the cutlery/crockery you could need. A fridge, gas cooker double sink, and gas bbq complete the home comforts. Again, baskets are provided so you can carry your meals back to the yurt if you don't want to eat at the cabin.
The shower is very powerful with lots of lovely hot water ( much needed after a day out and about) There is a compost loo, a bit scary at first but as long as you know which hole does what you'll be fine!!
All the yurts have solar powered fairy lights and several tea light lanterns for illumination. It was very windy when we stayed but it was just sooo romantic, snuggled down under our duvet with the stove lit, watching and the flickering lanterns go out one by one before drifting off to sleep.
The owners Eric and Anya are really welcoming. Eric took us around the facilities and explained how everything worked, how to light the stove and gave us directions to nearby shops and places to visit. Our fellow “Yurters” were families with young kids and they all seemed to be having a brill time. It really is a great place for them, loads of room to run about, the firepit and the curious compost loo!! Take a torch and wellies and enjoy the feeling of getting back to nature but with a few home comforts.

TripAdvisor review October 2009